Join Microwave Journal and Rogers Corp. for a free one-hour webinar on March 26, 2015:

Measurement of PIM Distortion in Microstrip Transmission Lines: Effect of Laminate Properties and Measurement Repeatability 

Date: March 26, 2015, 8am PT / 11am ET / 3pm UTC

Presenter: Allen F. Horn III, Ph.D., Rogers Corp.

Screen shot 2015-03-17 at 5.13.04 PMUnderstanding the factors contributing to the generation of passive intermodulation (PIM) distortion in multi-frequency communication systems is a subject of interest to antenna designers. As telecommunications antennas are becoming more complicated, microstrip circuits made on copper clad laminates are replacing bent metal designs. PIM distortion is a circuit or system property, not a basic material property, and depends on the overall design, connectors, and local power densities, among many other factors. However, there are basic laminate properties that can contribute to PIM. In this seminar, we will discuss the measurement of PIM in microstrip transmission lines and the pertinent laminate properties, most notably conductor profile. We also discuss experiments on the effects of circuit processing, laminate thickness, and power level. Understanding small contributions to PIM is complicated by the very low power levels involved. We discuss the special attention that must be paid to the statistics of the measurement method.

REGISTER TODAY

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *