Safety First at Rogers Corp.

On August 16, 2016, in Corporate Responsibility, by sharilee

Safety is an integral part of Rogers Cultural Behaviors:

  • rogers_livesafelyLife Safely
  • Trust
  • Speak Openly
  • Innovate
  • Just Decide
  • Simply Improve
  • Deliver Results

A very successful Safety Day event, sponsored by Rogers’ R&D Safety Committee and Innovation Center team, was held at corporate headquarters in Rogers CT on May 25, 2016. Safety not only is taken seriously at our manufacturing sites, but also by our R&D and corporate office colleagues who believe a strong safety program requires all employees to be actively involved.

The event was attended by ~85 R&D and Innovation Center employees and 30 employees from the corporate office. The day was broken into one-hour courses so participants had a selection of topics to choose from. The topics included:

  • First aid training by the American Red Cross
  • Diet and Fitness by a local Certified Personal Trainer
  • Home fire safety by the local Deputy Fire Chief
  • Ergonomics by our WorkWell Certified Physical Therapist
  • Home Safety by a Honeywell expert
  • Ladder safety for home and work by KB Ladder
  • Safety gloves and hand protection for home and work

There was also a scavenger hunt, which was the hit of the day. Many people had the opportunity to pair up with colleagues they do not normally work with and learn about safety items they were not familiar with in the R&D building. Random prize triggers throughout the day helped keep everyone interested and involved.

rogers_blog_081616While Rogers holds a variety of safety activities, this was our first Safety Day event initiated, produced, and executed at corporate headquarters for lab and office employees. The R&D and Innovation Center team, lead by Shawn Williams and Loni Decelles did a spectacular job with this event.

A big thank you to the R&D and Innovation Center Safety Committee and R&D leadership for promoting and supporting safe workplace and home safety.

The Rogers Corp. Safety Committee Members are:

Kurt Frisch, Tom Kneeland, Mike Lunt, Bryan Tworzydlo, Loni Decelles, Lisa Langelier, Selina Han, Brian Litke, Chuck Weatherbee, John Kaczowski, Steve Chviek, Betti Sheldon, Craig Clark, and Mark St. Jean.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *